1141 Lanier Blvd1 – 1141 Lanier Blvd
This custom, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired, Prairie style home is situated on a tranquil double lot along Rock Creek. The large trees, professional landscaping and landscape lighting create a one-of-a-kind in-town backyard oasis. The exterior of the home is brick and limestone, and the interior features extensive woodwork and impeccable craftsmanship with designer finishes throughout. The 5-bedroom/4.5 bath home boasts an open, modern floor plan with a gourmet kitchen, a dining room that seats 12, two home offices, a wine cellar and a fully equipped gym. The current owners had a faux finisher hand paint the detailed artwork (floral print) in the powder room as well as a multi-layered faux finish in the dining room. Built to LEED standards, no detail was spared in this stunning home.


882 Highland Terrace2 – 882 Highland Terrace
This home was originally constructed in 1935 and purchased by one of the current owners in 2002 as a one-story 2-bed/1-bath home. The owner has renovated the home twice, initially digging out the crawlspace by hand, using only shovels and Home Depot buckets. At that time, a full bedroom, bathroom and living room, complete with a wet bar, were added, while leaving the exposed granite foundation along one wall to showcase the craftsmanship and building practices of the 1930’s. The second renovation was completed in 2014 by the now husband and wife owners. Keeping the original foundation and brick, they added a full story on top of the house and slightly extended the front porch to capture the full mid-town view from the upstairs master porch. The exposed granite chimney running up the first and second story porches is all original. They harvested all the usable pine from the former attic to build two exterior tables, the mudroom bench and the racking for the wine cellar. Additionally, a black walnut tree from one of their properties in south Georgia was used for the island countertop, fireplace mantle, master bath countertops, exterior table bases and the dining room table, which was made with a live edge to show a cross section of the tree. This stunning home now consists of 5 bedrooms and 4.5 baths.
Renovation by: Phoenix Renovations Group


789 Brookridge Drive3 – 789 Brookridge Drive
Originally built in 1925, this house was completely transformed into an impeccable, designer home in a 2012 renovation. True to its architectural roots, the home maintained many of its original features such as its front façade – including its stylish herringbone brick design – portions of the sub-flooring structure and the main fireplace. Once 1,000 square feet, this luxurious home now boasts three finished levels that effortlessly span nearly 4,000 square feet. Signature details and custom finishes, including a spectacular pool with outdoor cabana, make this a home you won’t want to miss.
Architect: Mark Arnold


642 Park Drive4- 642 Park Drive
Much larger than it looks! In the late ‘90’s, the basement was finished to add four rooms and a full bath to the one original finished room, and an interior stairway was cut into what had been a breakfast nook. A larger, more extensive renovation was completed in February 2014, which included adding a second story and expanding off the back of the house, increasing the indoor living area by 71%! The original blueprints of this 1920’s bungalow have been passed from owner to owner all the way to the current owners, and one of the original toilets from 1920 remains in the main floor master bathroom. This unique home provides a blend of features sought in newer construction while preserving the character as well as some fixtures of a nearly 100 year old home.
Architect: Mark Arnold
Renovation by: Phoenix Renovations Group


828 Clemont Drive5 – 828 Clemont Drive
This home, originally built in 1925, has been thoughtfully renovated over the years including the addition of a carriage house, a kitchen renovation and a second story living area. The first floor of the house retains the original floors, fireplace, windows, and doors, and care was taken during the second story addition to match the existing doors, windows and trim work. The cabinetry in the kitchen and TV room was handmade by a local craftsman, who also built furniture for the house. Highlights include the bright and airy carriage house and an extensive collection of art, some of which has been in the homeowner’s family for 4 generations.


1041 Greencove Avenue6 – 1041 Greencove Avenue
The Arts and Crafts-style home you see today was originally a Tudor Revival style home that was recently redesigned and renovated, modeled (loosely) on a Gustav Stickley designed home. The renovation included adding a second floor, raising the first floor ceilings to 10 ft., pushing out the back exterior wall, adding a large front porch and building a new garage/carriage house. There is also a large underground water reservoir in the back yard area. The exterior features a beautiful and unusual brick that was manufactured by the Stephenson Brick Company in Birmingham, AL, which is evidently the same company that manufactured the brick on the old Sears building, now Ponce City Market. Many of the original materials were re-used in the home, so be sure to review the handout in the home for many more interesting details.
Architect: Mark Arnold


767 Virginia Circle7 – 767 Virginia Circle
This new home, completed in 2013, features 4 bedrooms and 4 baths and a detached garage with additional living space above. Highlights include 10 foot ceilings on both levels of the house, custom cabinetry, and a large and bright kitchen that opens up to a beautiful family room with a fireplace. Artwork by the homeowner’s mother, a painter based in California, can be found throughout the home, and the front porch swing is a family heirloom that was passed down from the homeowner’s grandmother. This home is an excellent example of new construction in the neighborhood and won the 2013 Gold Medal for Residential Remodeling – Whole House Renovation from the Greater Atlanta Homebuilders Association.


Church of Our Saviour8 – Church of Our Saviour
Founded in 1924, the Church of Our Saviour (COOS) is one of the oldest church communities in Virginia-Highland. In 1925, a small wooden church was erected at N. Highland and Los Angeles Avenues. The identity of the architect is not currently known. In 1948, a 2-story brick Rectory is built at the rear of the church. Various renovations and additions continued over the decades, including the installation of gorgeous stained-glass windows, many of which were created and installed in the 1970’s. All but the two oldest stained glass windows, created in 1959, were created at the Monastery of the Holy Spirit in Conyers, GA. In the 1980’s, a detailed church history revealed that the church had been described in newspapers as “chic,” “trendy,” and “politically sophisticated.”